Stannington Parish, 1848
STANNINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 5 miles (S. by E.) from Morpeth; containing 1,121 inhabitants, and comprising the seven townships of Blagdon, Bellasis, Clifton with Coldwell, Duddo, Plessey with Shotton, Saltwick, and Stannington. The parish formed part of the extensive barony of Merlay, and among the proprietors have been the noble families of Greystock and Dacre. It is situated on the river Blyth, over which is a modern stone bridge: the soil is stiff, but generally fertile, and well fenced and tilled; the substratum abounds with coal, and with freestone. The vale of Stannington is beautifully picturesque; the village occupies a bold and tolerably dry situation, on the road from Newcastle to Morpeth. The living is a vicarage, valued in the king's books at £5. 13. 4.; patron, the Bishop of Durham; impropriator, Sir M. W. Ridley, Bart. The great tithes have been commuted for £852; and the vicarial for £342, with a glebe of 21 acres. The church had formerly a chantry; one of the windows exhibits some fine specimens of stained glass, inserted in 1772, by the late Sir M. W. Ridley. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and a school has an endowment of £11 per annum.
Extract from: A Topographical Dictionary of England comprising the several counties, cities, boroughs, corporate and market towns, parishes, and townships..... 7th Edition, by Samuel Lewis, London, 1848.