Topics > County Durham > Civil Parishes in County Durham > Cleatlam Civil Parish

Cleatlam Civil Parish

About the Parish

Cleatlam is a civil parish in the south of County Durham, located to the south-west of Staindrop.

Main Settlements: Cleatlam (village)
Population: <100  (2011 Census) -  information is maintained under the parish of Staindrop.
Area: 4.54 km²
Parish Council? Parish Meeting
Unitary Authority: Durham County Council


Ancient Township:

Cleatlam Township

Townships became civil parishes in their own right in 1866 (see below).

Ancient Parish:

Unusually Cleatlam township was partly located in 3 different parishes:

Gainford Parish  (St Mary)

Staindrop Parish  (St Mary)

Winston Parish  (St Andrew)

Ancient parishes refer to the parishes before the split between ecclesiastical (church) and civil parishes in the 19th century. They had a parish church and often were composed of multiple townships and chapelries. In many cases, townships and parishes were originally based on the territory of manors from the feudal system during medieval times. Civil parishes were created following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1866, in which Church of England parishes, extra-parochial areas, townships and chapelries, became "civil parishes" which could set their own poor rate (tax). Then the reforms of Local Government Act 1894 established elected civil parish councils (or parish meetings for parishes with less than 300 residents) and created urban and rural districts. Boundaries of parishes and civil parishes may have changed over time.

Poor Law Union:

Teesdale Poor Law Union, formed in 1837.

Teesdale Union Workhouse was located at Barnard Castle. 

Under the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 parishes were grouped into Unions, each of which had to build a workhouse if they did not already have one. It ended the old system of locally provided poor relief which had come under strain as numbers out of work grew, following increasing mechanisation of agriculture and the economic downturn after the Napoleonic Wars, along with changing social attitudes. The workhouse provided those unable to support themselves financially with accommodation and work. Inmates were generally segregated into men, women, boys and girls. 

The workhouse system was abolished by the Local Government Act 1929, but many workhouses lived on as 'Public Assistance Institutions' until the National Assistance Act 1948.

District Council:

Barnard Castle Rural District, formed in 1894. The district was abolished in 1974, following the Local Government Act 1972.

Teesdale District (County Durham) from 1974 to 2009.

The district council was abolished when County Durham became a unitary authority on the 1st of April 2009.

See also: Historic Buildings and Monuments in Cleatlam Civil Parish Note: listed buildings are generally the responsibility of the county council, rather than the parish council.

Note: the separate hamlet of South Cleatlam is part of neighbouring Civil Parish of Winston.

Civil Parishes in County Durham Cleatlam Historic Buildings and Monuments in Cleatlam Civil Parish
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Cleatlam Map Street View Cleatlam is a village in County Durham, located about 4&frac12; miles north-east of Barnard Castle and 10 miles north-west of Darlington. Historically, Cleatlam was …


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.