The Old Low Light
- "The Old Low Light was replaced by the New Low Light in 1808. In 1830 the building was remodelled, becoming an almshouse" Photo by Barabbas1312, 20 August 2015. Licensed for …

Added by
Simon Cotterill
Tyne and Wear HER(4557): North Shields, Old Low Light
- "The Old Low Light was built in 1727, raised in 1775. It burnt three candles instead of two. It was given copper reflectors in 1736, and oil lamps were substituted …

Added by
Simon Cotterill
Old Low Light Heritage Centre
- "At the heart of North Shields Fish Quay we offer a unique experience to explore 900 years of maritime heritage. Through our changing programme of hands-on activities, workshops, exhibitions and …

Added by
Simon Cotterill


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.

List number: 1355016
List grade: 2
Tyne & Wear HER: 4557
Post code: NE30 1JA
Borough: North Tyneside
Grid ref: NZ3630968482


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.