Topics > County Durham > Civil Parishes in County Durham > Lynesack and Softley Civil Parish

Lynesack and Softley Civil Parish

About the Parish

Main Settlements: ButterknowleCopley, and part of Woodland, and a number of hamlets including Lynesack, South Side, and Softley

1,218  (2011 Census)

1,195  (2001 Census)

Area: 15.2 km²
Parish Council: Lynesack and Softley Parish Council
Unitary Authority: Durham County Council


Ancient Township:

Lynesack with Softley Township

Townships became civil parishes in their own right in 1866 (see below).

Ancient Parish:

St Andrew Auckland Parish  (St Andrew)

Ancient parishes refer to the parishes before the split between ecclesiastical (church) and civil parishes in the 19th century. They had a parish church and often were composed of multiple townships and chapelries. In many cases, townships and parishes were originally based on the territory of manors from the feudal system during medieval times. Civil parishes were created following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1866, in which Church of England parishes, extra-parochial areas, townships and chapelries, became "civil parishes" which could set their own poor rate (tax). Then the reforms of Local Government Act 1894 established elected civil parish councils (or parish meetings for parishes with less than 300 residents) and created urban and rural districts. Boundaries of parishes and civil parishes may have changed over time.

District Council:

Auckland Rural District, formed in 1894, abolished in 1937.

Barnard Castle Rural District, from 1937 to 1974. The district itself had been formed in 1894. It was abolished in 1974, following the Local Government Act 1972.

Teesdale District (County Durham) from 1974 to 2009.

The district council was abolished when County Durham became a unitary authority on the 1st of April 2009.

See also: Historic Buildings and Monuments in Lynesack and Softley Civil Parish Note: listed buildings are generally the responsibility of the county council, rather than the parish council.

Civil Parishes in County Durham Lynesack Woodland Copley Butterknowle Historic Buildings and Monuments in Lynesack and Softley Lynesack with Softley, 1848
from http://lynesackandsoftleypari…
Lynesack and Softley Parish Council
- Official pages of the parish council.

Added by
Simon Cotterill
from Geograph (geograph)
The Church of St John the Evangelist, Lynesack

Pinned by Simon Cotterill
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview Map Street View Lynesack is a hamlet near Butterknowle in County Durham. It also gives it's name to the civil parish of Lynesack and Softley. Lynesack is notable for the …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Butterknowle Map Street View Butterknowle is a village in County Durham located near the River Gaunless. It is part of the civil parish of Lynesack and Softley. Butterknowle …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Copley Map Street View   Copley is a village of roughly 400 inhabitants in County Durham, in England. It is situated 9 miles to the west of Bishop …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Woodland Map Street View Woodland is a village and civil parish in County Durham. Woodland village is located about 8 miles west of Bishop Auckland and 1 mile …


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.