Topics > County Durham > Civil Parishes in County Durham > Eggleston Civil Parish

Eggleston Civil Parish

About the Parish

Eggleston Civil Parish in County Durham. The River Tees lies to the south of the parish and Eggleston Fell to the north.

Main Settlements: Eggleston (village) and the smaller settlements of Folly Top, Egglesburn, Newtown, and Blackton.

448  (2011 Census)

410  (2001 Census)

Area: 32.5 km²
Parish Council: Eggleston Parish Council
Unitary Authority: Durham County Council


Ancient Township:

Eggleston (Chapelry)

Townships and chapelries became civil parishes in their own right in 1866 (see below).

Ancient Parish:

Middleton-in-Teesdale  (St Mary)

Ancient parishes refer to the parishes before the split between ecclesiastical (church) and civil parishes in the 19th century. They had a parish church and often were composed of multiple townships and chapelries. In many cases, townships and parishes were originally based on the territory of manors from the feudal system during medieval times. Civil parishes were created following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1866, in which Church of England parishes, extra-parochial areas, townships and chapelries, became "civil parishes" which could set their own poor rate (tax). Then the reforms of Local Government Act 1894 established elected civil parish councils (or parish meetings for parishes with less than 300 residents) and created urban and rural districts. Boundaries of parishes and civil parishes may have changed over time.

District Council:

Barnard Castle Rural District, formed in 1894. The district was abolished in 1974, following the Local Government Act 1972.

Teesdale District (County Durham) from 1974 to 2009.

The district council was abolished when County Durham became a unitary authority on the 1st of April 2009.

See also: Historic Buildings and Monuments in Eggleston Civil Parish Note: listed buildings are generally the responsibility of the county council, rather than the parish council.

Civil Parishes in County Durham Eggleston Egglesburn Historic Buildings and Monuments in Eggleston Civil Parish
from http://www.egglestonparishcou…
Eggleston Parish Council
- "The parish of Eggleston lies between the river Tees to the south and Eggleston Fell to the north, which is the border with Weardale....."

Added by
Simon Cotterill
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Eggleston Map Street View   Eggleston is a village in County Durham, in England. The population of the civil parish taken at the 2011 Census was 448. It …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Egglesburn Map Street View Egglesburn is a small village in County Durham, located just over a mile north-west of Eggleston. Egglesburn is situated by Eggleston Burn, near where …


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.