Topics > Northumberland > Civil Parishes in Northumberland > Hartburn Civil Parish > Deanham Township, 1848

Deanham Township, 1848

DEANHAM, a township, in the parish of Hartburn, union of Morpeth, N.E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 12½ miles (W. by S.) from Morpeth; containing 43 inhabitants. It was anciently designated Danum, Denome, Deneham, etc.; and notice of it first occurs in 1207, when King John confirmed to the monks of Tynemouth the ville of Bilesho, and the land of Role and Danum. Mention is made of the Deanham colliery and the glass clay there, in the 10th of William III. The township consists of the places called Old and New Deanham and Scarlethall, and comprises 740 acres, of which 444 are arable, 293 pasture, and 2½ woodland; it is the property of Lord Decies, who pays a rent-charge of £94 to the vicar of Hartburn.

Extract from: A Topographical Dictionary of England comprising the several counties, cities, boroughs, corporate and market towns, parishes, and townships..... 7th Edition, by Samuel Lewis, London, 1848.

Hartburn Civil Parish Hartburn Parish, 1848
from Geograph (geograph)
Road to Deanham

Pinned by Simon Cotterill
from Geograph (geograph)
New Deanham

Pinned by Simon Cotterill
from Geograph (geograph)
Grass, sheep and reeds

Pinned by Simon Cotterill


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.