Topics > Civil Parishes in Cumbria > Dean Civil Parish

Dean Civil Parish

Parish boundaries may have changed - for the latest map see the Parish Council or Cumberland Council.

About the Parish

Main Settlements:

BranthwaiteDeanDeanscales,  Eaglesfield,  Pardshaw,  Ullock


1,166 (2021 Census)

1,227  (2011 Census)

1,077  (2001 Census)

Area: 34.5 km2
Parish Council: Dean Parish Council
Unitary Authority: Cumberland Council


Ancient Townships



Ullock with Pardsey and Dean-Scales

Eaglesfield *

Townships became civil parishes in their own right in 1866 (see below).

Ancient Parish:

Dean Parish (St. Oswald) - Dean, Branthwaite, Deanscales, Pardshaw, Ullock

Bringham Parish (St Bridget) - Eaglesfield

Ancient parishes refer to the parishes before the split between ecclesiastical (church) and civil parishes in the 19th century. They had a parish church and often were composed of multiple townships and chapelries. In many cases, townships and parishes were originally based on the territory of manors from the feudal system during medieval times. Civil parishes were created following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1866, in which Church of England parishes, extra-parochial areas, townships and chapelries, became "civil parishes" which could set their own poor rate (tax). Then the reforms of Local Government Act 1894 established elected civil parish councils (or parish meetings for parishes with less than 300 residents) and created urban and rural districts. Boundaries of parishes and civil parishes may have changed over time.

* Eaglesfield Civil Parish (1866-1934), became part of Dean Civil Parish on 1st April 1934

Ancient District:

Allerdale above Derwent (ward)

Poor Law Union:

Cockermouth Poor Law Union, formed in 1838.

Cockermouth Union Workhouse was located by Sullart Street in Cockermouth, opening in 1841. This replaced smaller existing workhouses in Cockermouth, Maryport and Workington.

Under the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 parishes were grouped into Unions, each of which had to build a workhouse if they did not already have one. It ended the old system of locally provided poor relief which had come under strain as numbers out of work grew, following increasing mechanisation of agriculture and the economic downturn after the Napoleonic Wars, along with changing social attitudes. The workhouse provided those unable to support themselves financially with accommodation and work. Inmates were generally segregated into men, women, boys and girls. 

The workhouse system was abolished by the Local Government Act 1929, but many workhouses lived on as ‘Public Assistance Institutions’ until the National Assistance Act 1948.


Cumberland, until 1974, then:

Cumbria, which was created on the 1st of April 1974, following the Local Government Act 1972. The new county absorbed Cumberland and Westmorland, and added some parts of Lancashire and the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Cumbria County Council was abolished in 2023 and replaced by 2 new Unitary authorities. Cumbria remains a ceremonial county; retaining ceremonial boundary and the roles and responsibilities of the Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff of Cumbria - based on 'The Cumbria (Structural Changes) Order 2022'.

District Council:

Cockermouth Rural District (1894 - 1974)

Allerdale Borough (1974 - 2023)  Created by the Local Government Act 1972. Allerdale absorbed the former municipal borough of Workington; the urban districts of Maryport, Cockermouth and Keswick; and the rural districts of Cockermouth and Wigton.

Allerdale and the 5 other district councils of Cumbria, along with the county council, were abolished as part of local government reorganisation in 2023; and replaced by two unitary authorities on 1st April 2023.

Unitary Authority:

Cumberland Council was created on the 1st April 2023. The 'new' Cumberland unitary authority area includes most of the historic county, with the exception of Penrith and it's surrounding area, which is part the 'new' Westmorland and Furness unitary authority.

See also:  Historic Buildings and Monuments in Dean Civil Parish. Note: listed buildings are generally the responsibility of the county council / unitary authority, rather than the parish council.

Civil Parishes in Cumbria Deanscales Pardshaw Eaglesfield Dean, Allerdale Ullock Branthwaite, Workington Dean Parish, Allerdale, 1848 Historic Buildings and Monuments in Dean Civil Parish
from https://deanparishcouncil.wor…
Dean Parish Council
- Website of Dean Parish Council. "....Dean Parish covers the villages of Branthwaite, Dean, Deanscales, Eaglesfield, Pardshaw and Ullock. The Parish Council meet bi-monthly with the January meeting held in Eaglesfield …

Added by
Simon Cotterill
Dean, Allerdale
  Co-Curate Page
Dean, Allerdale
- Overview About Dean Map Street View   Dean is a village and civil parish in the Allerdale district, in the county of Cumbria, England. Dean has a Church of England …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Ullock Map Street View ULLOCK, with Pardsey and Dean-Scales, a township, in the parish of Dean, union of Cockermouth, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 5½ …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Deanscales Map Street View Deanscales is a hamlet in the Allerdale district of Cumbria, located about 3 miles south-west of Cockermouth. The Old Posting House (inn) is located on …
Branthwaite, Workington
  Co-Curate Page
Branthwaite, Workington
- Overview About Branthwaite Map Street View Branthwaite is a village in the Allerdale district of Cumbria, located about 4 miles south-east of Workington and 5 miles south-west of Cockermouth. Historically, …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview Map Street View Pardshaw is a village in the Allerdale district of Cumbria, located about 3½ miles south-west of Cockermouth. To the north-east of the village are Pardshaw Craggs, …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview About Eaglesfield Map Street View   Eaglesfield is a village and former civil parish, now in the parish of Dean, in Allerdale district, in the county of Cumbria, in …
from https://www.cumbriacountyhist…
- "Ancient parish in Allerdale above Derwent ward, Cumberland, which included townships of Dean, Branthwaite and Ullock, Pardshaw & Deanscales. CP enlarged by absorbing Eaglesfield CP of the Five Towns …

Added by
Simon Cotterill


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.