Topics > Civil Parishes in Cumbria > Westnewton Civil Parish

Westnewton Civil Parish

Parish boundaries may have changed - for the latest map see the Parish Council or Cumberland Council.

About the Parish

Main Settlements:

Westnewton (village), Mealrigg, Yearngill (hamlets) and several farms, including Brownrigg Hall, Crossriggs, Howrigg, Lords Close, Newton Field, Newton-out-Field, Stubbsgill


237  (2021 Census)

265  (2011 Census)

247  (2001 Census)

Area: 12.0 km2
Parish Council:

Westnewton Parish Council

Unitary Authority: Cumberland Council
Ceremonial County: Cumbria


Ancient Township

West Newton

Townships and chapelries became civil parishes in their own right in 1866 (see below).

Ancient Parish:

Bromfield Parish (St Mungo)

Ancient parishes refer to the parishes before the split between ecclesiastical (church) and civil parishes in the 19th century. They had a parish church and often were composed of multiple townships and chapelries. In many cases, townships and parishes were originally based on the territory of manors from the feudal system during medieval times. Civil parishes were created following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1866, in which Church of England parishes, extra-parochial areas, townships and chapelries, became "civil parishes" which could set their own poor rate (tax). Then the reforms of Local Government Act 1894 established elected civil parish councils (or parish meetings for parishes with less than 300 residents) and created urban and rural districts. Boundaries of parishes and civil parishes may have changed over time.

Ancient District:

Allerdale above Derwent (ward)

Poor Law Union:

Wigton Poor Law Union, formed in 1836.

Wigton Union Workhouse was located on Cross Street, Wigton, which was built in 1842 to house up to 250 inmates. Prior to that there had been smaller workhouses in Caldbeck, Oulton, Glasson, and Wigton.

Under the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 parishes were grouped into Unions, each of which had to build a workhouse if they did not already have one. It ended the old system of locally provided poor relief which had come under strain as numbers out of work grew, following increasing mechanisation of agriculture and the economic downturn after the Napoleonic Wars, along with changing social attitudes. The workhouse provided those unable to support themselves financially with accommodation and work. Inmates were generally segregated into men, women, boys and girls. 

The workhouse system was abolished by the Local Government Act 1929, but many workhouses lived on as ‘Public Assistance Institutions’ until the National Assistance Act 1948.


Cumberland, until 1974, then:

Cumbria, which was created on the 1st of April 1974, following the Local Government Act 1972. The new county absorbed Cumberland and Westmorland, and added some parts of Lancashire and the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Cumbria County Council was abolished in 2023 and replaced by 2 new Unitary authorities. Cumbria remains a ceremonial county; retaining ceremonial boundary and the roles and responsibilities of the Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff of Cumbria - based on 'The Cumbria (Structural Changes) Order 2022'.

District Council:

Wigton Rural District (1894 - 1974)

Allerdale Borough (1974 - 2023)  Created by the Local Government Act 1972. Allerdale absorbed the former municipal borough of Workington; the urban districts of Maryport, Cockermouth and Keswick; and the rural districts of Cockermouth and Wigton.

Allerdale and the 5 other district councils of Cumbria, along with the county council, were abolished as part of local government reorganisation in 2023; and replaced by two unitary authorities on 1st April 2023.

Unitary Authority:

Cumberland Council was created on the 1st April 2023. The 'new' Cumberland unitary authority area includes most of the historic county, with the exception of Penrith and it's surrounding area, which is part the 'new' Westmorland and Furness unitary authority.


See also:  Historic Buildings and Monuments in Westnewton Civil Parish. Note: listed buildings are generally the responsibility of the county council / unitary authority, rather than the parish council.

Civil Parishes in Cumbria Newton Field, Cumbria Mealrigg, Cumbria Westnewton, Cumbria Yearngill Historic Buildings and Monuments in Westnewton Civil Parish Milestone at Crossriggs Old Milestone near Garth House, Westnewton
Westnewton Parish Council
- Website of Westnewton Parish Council

Added by
Simon Cotterill
Westnewton, Cumbria
  Co-Curate Page
Westnewton, Cumbria
- Westnewton (formerly West Newton) is a village in Cumberland in the ceremonial county of Cumbria. Westnewton Beck flows westward through the village, with greens on either side. In the village …
Mealrigg, Cumbria
  Co-Curate Page
Mealrigg, Cumbria
- Overview Map Street View Mealrigg is a hamlet in Cumbria, located about 8 miles south-west of Wigton. Historically, Mealrigg was part of a township with Langrigg, in the ancient parish …
  Co-Curate Page
- Overview Map Street View Yearngill (or Yearn Gill) is a hamlet and farm, which is located a short distance to the east of the village Westnewton in Cumbria.
from https://www.cumbriacountyhist…
- "Township in Bromfield parish, Allerdale below Derwent ward, Cumberland. United with Allonby as West Newton and Allonby CP, 1866 to 1894.....manor of Newton held by de Newton family from 12th …

Added by
Simon Cotterill
from https://www.visionofbritain.o…
Westnewton - Cumbria

Added by
Simon Cotterill
Newton Field, Cumbria
  Co-Curate Page
Newton Field, Cumbria
- Overview Map Street View Newton Field is a farm / hamlet in Cumbria, located about 2 miles west of Westnewton and 2 miles east of Allonby. The farm is situated …
from Geograph (geograph)
Buttressed Barn at Whinbank

Pinned by Simon Cotterill
from Geograph (geograph)

Pinned by Simon Cotterill


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.