Description"This large site, south of the Metro Radio Arena is now virtually cleared, with only two derelict buildings built into the steep bank on Skinnerburn Road. The Elswick Lead Works opened here under the name Walkers, Fishwick & Co. in 1778. The 1862 1:500 OS Town Plan shows a wide range of buildings including the once iconic Shot Tower which stood 174 feet high from 1796 until demolition in 1969. The factory, currently owned by Calder Industrial Materials: Evening light on Redheugh Bridge finally closed in 2002 and was largely cleared. The buildings that remain appear to be largely inhabited by the homeless, urban explorers and art students." Photo and text by Andrew Curtis, 2011, and licensed for reuse under a Creative Commons Licence.
LicenseWhat does this mean? Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-SA 2.0)
Further informationLink: http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/2721626
Resource type: Text/Website
Added by: Simon Cotterill
Last modified: 6 years, 5 months ago
Viewed: 754 times
Picture Taken: Unknown