Low Chibburn

  • Description

    "These ruins have a fascinating history. Once a hospital of the Knights of St John, later a castle raided by the French in 1691, and, more recently, part of the WW2 coastal defences. The farmland all around has been restored after open-cast coal mining that ended in the 1970s." Photo by Bryan Pready, 2013.
  • Owner

    Bryan Pready
  • Source

    Geograph (Geograph)
  • License

    What does this mean? Creative Commons License
  • Further information

    Link: http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/3720828
    Resource type: Image
    Added by: Simon Cotterill
    Last modified: 7 years ago
    Viewed: 565 times
    Picture Taken: 2013-10-27
  • Co-Curate tags

Comments

Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.

ABOUT US

Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.

LATEST SHARED RESOURCES