Detail: coats of arms, Students' Union, Newcastle University

  • Description

    Coats of arms are (L to R): Armstrong College; University of Durham; College of Medicine; the cross is the pectoral cross of St Cuthbert, the 'apostle of Northumbria'. (The Durham link is because Newcastle was a division of the federal University of Durham at the time that the building was constructed; the two colleges were eventually combined to give King's College, which eventually split off to become the University of Newcastle upon Tyne in 1963.) Look carefully and you can see the strong arms (fortinbras) of the Armstrongs on the first shield.
  • Owner

    Alun J. Carr
  • Source

    Flickr (Flickr)
  • License

    What does this mean? Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs License
  • Further information

    Resource type: Image
    Added by: Simon Cotterill
    Last modified: 7 years, 6 months ago
    Viewed: 1427 times
    Picture Taken: Unknown
  • Co-Curate tags


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.