From Skinningrove Hall to Moonfleet (via Timm’s Coffee House)

  • Description

    "One of Skinningrove’s oldest buildings is a three-storey property that backs onto The Square. Built in 1704 as Skinningrove Hall, it’s been a public house for many years with the (unique?) name of Timm’s Coffee House. It acquired that name after Mr A L Maynard, an owner of the Hall during the 19th century, had visited London where coffee houses were popular at the time. Mr Maynard was to have a key role in the development of mining in the local valley as he discovered an outcrop of ironstone on his land in 1848...."
  • Owner

    Skinningrove History Group
  • Source

    Local (Co-Curate)
  • License

    What does this mean? Unknown license check permission to reuse
  • Further information

    Resource type: Text/Website
    Added by: Simon Cotterill
    Last modified: 7 years, 4 months ago
    Viewed: 653 times
    Picture Taken: Unknown
  • Co-Curate tags


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.