Bill Quay, Gateshead

Related Pages

Bill Quay


  • Description

    Davey Pearson Photographic Archive on loan to the Ouseburn Trust: RB Harrison ship repairers at Bill Quay, nestled under the bank side (closed 1990). RB Harrison took over the original yard of William Boutland. Behind the shipyard is (L-R) a derelict paper mill (behind the crane), the adjacent derelict brick building was formerly the paint works site of Hoyle and Robson and later International Paints and behind these buildings is Fairfield Industrial Park previously the site of the Marconi radar factory. Behind the crane jib is the Albion Inn, Reay Street, Bill Quay and (extreme left) Harrison's former house (South Bank) at the end of Reay Street.
  • Owner

    Ouseburn Trust
  • Source

    Flickr (Flickr)
  • License

    What does this mean? All Rights Reserved (Seek permission to reuse)
  • Further information

    Resource type: Image
    Added by: Richy
    Last modified: 7 years, 4 months ago
    Viewed: 1541 times
    Picture Taken: Unknown
  • Co-Curate tags


Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.


Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.