Souter Lighthouse history

  • Description

    Built in 1871 to ward ships from the dangerous rocks at Whitburn Steel, Souter was the first lighthouse in the world purpose built to use electricity. Souter was a technological marvel in its day, but it was the development of new technology like GPS and satellite navigation which led to its decommission in 1988 after 117 years of service to shipping in the North East. Tab 2 The colliery Industrial heritage © National Trust Industrial heritage © National Trust The best coal in the North East is found in seams extending out under the North Sea. Whitburn Coal Company sunk two shafts south of the lighthouse between 1874 - 1877 and the first coal was brought out in 1881. By 1898 it was producing 2,600 tons of coal per day. Mining at Souter was never easy though and the colliery finally closed in 1968. The reclaimed land is now Whitburn Coastal Park. Tab 3 The lost village A cliff top home with stunning sea views © National Trust A cliff top home with stunning sea views © National Trust
  • Owner

    National Trust
  • Source

    Local (Co-Curate)
  • License

    What does this mean? Unknown license check permission to reuse
  • Further information

    Link: http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/souter-lighthouse-and-the-leas/history/
    Resource type: Text/Website
    Added by: Leo Allan
    Last modified: 4 years, 9 months ago
    Viewed: 328 times
    Picture Taken: Unknown
  • Co-Curate tags

Comments

Add a comment or share a memory.

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.

ABOUT US

Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.

LATEST SHARED RESOURCES