Houses, Drumburgh - see comments for history

Related Pages


Drumburgh


Cumbria

Comments

Add a comment or share a memory.

  • ss on March 3, 2021, 6 p.m.

    This house now called Lowther House, was formerly The Lowther Castle Inn. Built of cobble and sandstone in 1813 it traded from then until it was compulsory purchased and closed in 1917. This came about as a result of the then Government policy to control the sale of alcohol to aid the war effort which later became the Carlisle Sate Management Scheme.
    As an Inn it provided food drink and accommodation, it also sold commodities such as tea, coffee, tobacco and snuff. The Drumburgh Otter Hounds met here.
    The first tenant in 1813 was Mr. William Wood, a yeoman farmer from Easton and a virtual complete record of later Licensee and subsequent house owners exists from 1813 to the present day.
    Renovations in 2017 revealed original painted lettering above both doors to the front of the property. This has been professionally conserved. The interior retains a number of original fittings including wood panelling and stone fireplaces.
    The house is private property.

    • Simon Cotterill on March 3, 2021, 6:05 p.m.

      Thanks for sharing that fascinating information - sounds like a good candidate for the "House through time" tv series!

Login to add a comment. Sign-up if you don't already have an account.

ABOUT US

Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria. Co-Curate is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using social media and open archives/data.

LATEST SHARED RESOURCES