The sheep and cattle market in Newcastle, held where the Centre for Life is now located, was first held here on 27th July 1830. Before that time, Newcastle butchers primarily bought their cattle at Morpeth Market. Newcastle's cattle market soon grew and overtook the market at Morpeth. Cattle markets were held every Tuesday in Newcastle.
The Grainger Market in Newcastle was opened in October 1835, and was originally divided into a butchers’ market and separate vegetable market. John Dobson was the architect who designed and oversaw construction of the market. The market was named in honour of Richard Grainger, who was the developer who led the redevelopment of 19th century Newcastle, in which the market was a key development.
The Market Keeper's Office and Toll House of the Cattle Market in Newcastle was designed by John Dobson, and built in 1842. Most of the market is now built over by the International Centre for Life, however, the Market Keepers Office remains.
The Marks and Spencer's Penny Bazaar in the Grainger Market at Newcastle, opened in 1895. It is still open today and is the last surviving example of the Penny Bazaar shops which gave birth to the well known Marks and Spencer's chain of stores. The stall in the Grainger Market is notable as the world's smallest Marks and Spencer's store!
Co-Curate is a project which brings together online collections, museums, universities, schools
and community groups to make and re-make stories and images from North East England and Cumbria.
Co-Curate
is a trans-disciplinary project that will open up 'official' museum and 'un-officia'l co-created
community-based collections and archives through innovative collaborative approaches using
social media and open archives/data.